A night to remember?

Possibly. I’m not saying it was my greatest day ever or anything like that, but compared to the usual course of events it was definitely up there as one of the best ones in recent times, which probably says a lot about my life!

Things really started moving after my return from work, and as is usually the case mid-week, I was in a hurry. I was on my way to the Kingston Leisure Centre for my last squash match of my league, and it had to be said I was feeling a bit apprehensive. My opponent was someone I had never beaten in all the times we had played previously, and I needed a win to secure promotion in the Leagues.

As we warmed up before the game the signs weren’t good – I was missing returns and felt tired and sluggish when moving around the squash court.  The first game was fairly close but my opponent was playing well and won it comfortably. I narrowly won the second game, just managing to hang in there, and after really digging deep I was able to secure the third and fourth games to win the match with almost maximum points!

As I left the Kingston Leisure Centre on my way to the pub on Tolworth Broadway I felt good but tired.  After parking the car, I could see that my mate from the Kingston Radio Station had already arrived for my second contest of the evening – it was Pool time!

Now whilst Pool is not exactly classed as a sport of Olympian standards, I think me and my mate probably take it a little too seriously, and are over competitive about it to a silly degree. He seemed in confident mood, and as it turned out rightly so – as the Pool games progressed he established a two game lead. It took a bit of time but I eventually draw level, and by closing time at the bar I managed to win by a single frame.

A fine weekly tradition!

He wasn’t too happy about this as I drove us back to Surbiton to pick up the traditional post pub kebab. Shortly after we had picked up our food, two girls entered the shop. One of them looked stunning – she was blue eyed, blonde, and seemed to have a very nice manner. All I could do at the time was to ask her about her Falafel, which she was eating whilst she was waiting for her friend to get her order. She was lovely.

I think the only way the evening could have ended better was if she gave me her phone number – I guess it is just a case of dreaming on!

This entry was posted in Art, Art, Books, Culture, Entertainment, Events, Family, foo, Books, burgers, celebrity, Cider, Culture, Current Affairs, Entertainment, Events, Family, food, Friends, leisure, Life, Music, News, People, politics, Relationships, Religion, smoothie, sport, Stockholm, Technology, Television, Telivision, travel, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A night to remember?

  1. ktIHcndh says:

    Hrm, Not the best post unfortunately. Sorry to be so blunt! You should try some Norwegian carrot cake ( ) to cheer you up instead.

  2. royiii says:

    No worries. I certainly was happy enough on the night itself though. That said, I like the sound of that Norwegian Carrot cake…

Leave a comment