Phone for me?

It finally happened -phonewise I have just entered the 21st century!

The writing was on the electronic wall for my trusty Nokia for quite some time.

R.I.P.

R.I.P.

When I bought it brand new all those years ago it was considered to be cutting edge key pad technology, and with its backlit keys, multi-coloured display and metallic finish I also thought it looked pretty cool – truly weapons grade pay as you go technology.

As you can tell this happy situation didn’t last for long. The smart phone revolution kicked in quick – the touch screen was now king. Any phone unit with a key pad was consigned to the status of a dinosaur.

I can’t say the prospect of having a Jurassic phone particularly bothered me. Up to this point, Nokia touch key phones were all I knew since the time I bought my first mobile handset.

Over the years I had got used to the menu systems and key combinations, and even though the unit was regarded as a fogey phone, it did what it said on the proverbial tin – I could still phone and text, and on the later models there was even the option of connecting to the World Wide Web!

As time went on, faults started developing in the Nokia. The plug that was used to connect to the charger got loose – it meant that a re-charge required increasingly super human effort and patience. Also, the networks started hiking up the pay as you go rates, so keeping in phone credit was becoming expensive.

What really did for it was when the phone battery condition went very firmly south – it just couldn’t hold any charge! It got to the point when the very process of making a call would drain it completely. It was fast becoming unusable.

Deciding that enough was enough I bit the bullet and bought a smart phone. After a bit of consultation, I settled for a Samsung A3, opting for a unit with the best operating system for the cash I was prepared to outlay. Completely breaking with tradition, I opted for a monthly contract due to the unlimited texts and calls on offer.

Much to my surprise I do like being on the smart phone band wagon. Texting and making calls couldn’t be easier, and getting on the web to check things like the football scores is very straight forward.

The only minor beef I have is the re-charging – this has to be done every two days, but this is easy to do from a plug or a computer using a USB connector.

It is a brave new world!

This entry was posted in Art, Books, celebrity, Culture, Current Affairs, Entertainment, Events, Family, Friends, leisure, Life, Music, News, People, politics, Relationships, sport, Technology, Telivision, travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment