New Year, New Look?

This is a pretty belated New Year’s post even by my standards!

How did your 31st Dec go? Mine was a bit of a change from New Year celebrations of old.

I saw in the big 19 near the Triangle in Norbiton at the home of a mate from Squash. I joined him and his wife for a home cooked meal – he had made his signature dish, Paella – having always been a bit sceptical about home cooking I was really surprised when it turned out to be….really good!

The beers were also freely flowing – he had been given a box of ales as a present, and we were doing a bit of sampling, all in the spirit of research of course.

The next part of the evening was a first for me – I had never been to a ticketed pub event in Norbiton before, and it was held in a hostelry that I knew very well – it was the Kingston Radio Station Local.

I was feeling a bit wasted on arrival at the pub. The beers I had earlier were starting to take their toll. It had to be said things were looking lively – whilst not totally packed, the DJ had quite a bit of footfall on the makeshift dance floor.

I didn’t really join in the dance floor shenanigans, being painfully aware of my two left feet and complete lack of rhythm. My mate’s wife was a very keen dancer, and she proved her ability beyond doubt by putting in some pretty impressive looking moves!

The bar staff had really made an effort – they were all dressed in white which was the theme of the evening – donning a white shirt was my sop to this.

Some of the ladies behind the bar looked stunning, and I was fortunate to swap kisses with a very attractive barmaid as we exchanged New Year’s greetings for those legendary midnight bells.

At around half past midnight I was seriously starting to flag as I nursed my second pint of Young’s, and my companions were feeling the same way. We headed back to my mates home, and we had a few glasses of this to toast in 2019:

tipple

Medicinal!

I left their place at around half one clutching my plastic container of surplus Paella. I made my way past the Triangle down Clarence Avenue, looking for the mighty 213 bus, a service which I had been informed was running all night over New Year.

I had made it all the way to the end of Clarence Avenue and had just crossed over the road in Coombe Lane when a New Malden bound 213 bus turned up – the driver confirmed that the fare was free!

I got back to the family home by about 2 pm, and feeling in need of a bit of a night cap, I rounded off the evenings events with a few more whiskies whilst watching a bit of late night TV.

I hope you all have a very happy and healthy 2019!

This entry was posted in Art, Books, celebrity, Culture, Current Affairs, Entertainment, Events, Family, food, Friends, leisure, Life, Music, News, People, politics, Relationships, Religion, sport, Technology, Television, travel, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment