The car is the star?

Well, as avid readers of my last post will know, the deed has been done!

Here’s a pic of the new motor below:

Car

Mean Machine?

The snap was taken in the Kingston Radio Station car park, so excuse the lighting.

It really was a long time coming – this was an issue outlined in my post ‘Car Conundrum’ on 16th April 2018! The scenario outlined was more or less how it turned out in mid-December 2019.

As predicted in the 2018 post, my sister’s permanent move up north to start a new job rendered our very convenient car share arrangement null and void.

My lapse into total carlessness though predictable proved hard to mitigate against.

The main problem was getting the money together. I had been saving hard for about a year and a half, and was in the market for a vehicle that, whilst not completely being brand new, was not on a downhill slope to accelerating decrepitude.

By early January this year, I was getting close to the target sum of cash, though by my reckoning, it probably wouldn’t be enough to avoid the need to take out a loan agreement to secure my motor of choice.

Shortly after New Year, on the last weekend of my Christmas leave, whilst perusing the website of a car dealership in the Tolworth area, I found the details of a car that ticked all the boxes.

It was a model and make that I had always wanted, it had a manual gear box, a good size turbo engine, five doors, and was only four years old!

Bonuses were a nifty looking car radio display, ultra-low carbon emissions which made it tax free, and most importantly of all, the cost – it was priced at a level which was just enough to be covered by my savings without the need of a car loan!

A very quick call was made to the dealer – I booked a Saturday afternoon test drive, and as the saying goes, the rest is history – I bought the car.

The next few days were busy – the car tax was hurriedly organised – this had to be applied for even though it cost nothing. The insurance turned out to be more stressful (and needless to say, more expensive) to sort out than I had expected.

The price of the cars MOT will have to be added on to the usual household bills that will be due around April.

So far, I am happy with the purchase – full time car access means that getting to Kingston and Weybridge Radio Stations is no longer a headache.

Squash has become a much easier option now that getting there is not an issue – now I just have to focus on arranging the games!

In respect of using it to drive to the office for work, I think I will wait to get a bit more acclimatised to my new vehicle – there is still the feeling that it is very much early days.

The overall feeling is relief that this issue is finally sorted out – I am now free to get on with other stuff that urgently needs sorting – to use a currently trendy phrase, I can finally move on.

This entry was posted in Art, Books, celebrity, Culture, Current Affairs, Entertainment, Events, Family, food, Friends, leisure, Life, Music, News, People, politics, Relationships, Religion, sport, Technology, Television, travel, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment