The turn of the tap?

This was something that should have been done over year ago as that was when it all started, at my flat early one weekday morning.

My work shift (I work from home) was barely two hours old. With the aim of obtaining that vital mid-morning cup of coffee in mind, I was in the process of filling my dilapidated kettle at my kitchen sink.

I twisted the cold water tap, and to my annoyance it just kept on turning! It looked as if the threads in the tap handle connected to the water valve (that allowed it to be turned), had broken.

There was definitely no cold water coming out anyway. The hot tap was OK though.

Arranging a fix for this got waylaid as around this time I moved back to my family home to help care for my mother, so to cut a short story even shorter, my cold tap was still in the state where it just gave a waterless spin.

Here’s a pic of my then kitchen sink mixer unit:

Going green?

The offending cold water spinner is the tap (I think you call them faucets in the US) on the right hand side.

Before you say it, I know the tap unit is a bit of a horror show to behold – all I can say is that it deteriorated pretty quickly into the state of decrepitude it is in now shortly after I bought the flat!

The green stuff on the end of the mixer duct is most likely to be lime scale – I had tried many cleaning products over the years to try and shift it but to no avail.

My most recent cunning plan was to tackle both the problems of the spinning tap and advanced mixer-duct-decrepitude by replacing the whole mixer unit.

A friend of mine recommended a plumber, who eventually agreed to do the job after some protracted haggling over parking arrangements.

Here is the end result:

Taking a shine?

I thought it was a pretty good job! I now have cold water quite literally on tap!

That was one result worthy of celebrating, and I did that by finally making that cup of coffee that I had attempted all those months ago. I was also able to use the brand new kettle that was a thoughtful Christmas gift from the end of 2022.

For me it represents a bit of a fresh start – I am hoping to avoid the new tap unit deteriorating into the shocking state of its predecessor.

Another thing is that fixing this issue was one of my 2023 New Year resolutions – it looks as if this one can be ticked off now, albeit rather late in the day.

It’s a case of one down, one more resolution to go …

This entry was posted in Art, Books, celebrity, Current Affairs, Entertainment, Events, Family, food, Friends, leisure, Life, Music, News, People, politics, Relationships, Religion, sport, Technology, Television, travel, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The turn of the tap?

  1. spwilcen says:

    Well done. Grand to see you back! That’s how it goes (with chores around the house). Just gotta keep plugging-away, abandoning any hope of ever being “all caught-up.”

  2. That is a modern-looking spigot—or faucet. Professionally done, too! How’d the coffee taste?

  3. BTW—Was able to reblog this by the copy/paste method. Prettier than a mere link!

  4. utahan15 says:

    cold water mourining
    calcite
    and halium forming
    apparently

  5. luke sales says:

    🎅🏻🎅🏻🎅🏻🎅🏻🎅🏻

  6. Lovely . . .
    What an upgrade ?

  7. cupcakecache says:

    We had to call a plumber for tomorrow as there was water dripping from the washer in the side off the house. My husband is pretty handy. He tried to YouTube it but it turns out that an important part is welded. Another resolution to settle! Happy 2024. Last week, we also had our ac/heater until replaced. Expensive and a long time in the making but the warmth in the house is good! We are in Florida but temps in the 60’s have us turning on the heat.

    • royiii says:

      I think you did well getting a plumber to come the next day, cupcakecache – trying to sort out the parking and availability meant that it took a week for me to organise people to come around and install my taps. Happy 2024 to you as well – I am finding that those New Year resolutions are piling up too! Glad to hear you sorted out your AC unit.

      • cupcakecache says:

        Thanks! The husband is a great relationship builder. He makes connections very quickly, unlike myself with deep waters. Yes, sorting out the AC unit is good.

Leave a comment